Brief Murray River Facts

  • The Murray is the third longest navigable river in the world, after the Amazon and Nile
  • Total length – 2520 kilometres from its source in the Upper Murray and the Kosciusko Nat. Park
  • Australia’s 3rd oldest flag flown in 1853 and the only flag in the world named in honour of a river
  • The Murray is continuously navigable for 1986 kilometres from Goolwa to Yarrawonga
  • The Murray spans three states – Victoria, New South Wales and South Australia
  • The river has 4 major dams, 16 storage weirs and 15 navigable locks
  • Is the major domestic water supply for over 1.5 million households
  • Along with its tributaries, the Murray is part of the third largest water catchment on earth
  • Aboriginal occupation extends back 40,000 years
  • For half a century from 1853, the Murray was a virtual water highway to paddle steamers
  • Murray Cod can easily grow up to 1.8m in size
  • The Murray has the world’s largest River Red Gum forest and Ibis rookery on its banks
  • The Murray is a mecca for golfers with 37 golf courses along its banks

Contact Us